ICT50220 – Diploma of Information Technology(Telecommunications network engineering)

Nationally Recognised Training

This qualification reflects the role of individuals in various information and communications technology (ICT) roles who have established specialised skills in a technical ICT function.
Individuals in these roles carry out moderately complex tasks in a specialist field, working independently, as part of a team, or leading a deliverable with others. They may apply their skills across various industries, business functions, and departments, or as business owners (sole trader/contractor).

VET National Code
CRICOS Course Code
52 weeks (incl. holidays and term break)
Delivery Mode

The course is delivered face-to-face in classrooms with access to computer, printers, software and access to all the equipment and resources identified in each unit of competency. Students will require to study face to face minimum 20 hours per week over 40 weeks.

Tuition Fee
Enrolment Fee
Material Fee
Work Based Training

Age Requirements:

All international students must be at least 18 years of age or above at the time of course commencement to study at BLC.

Academic Requirements:

Prospective BLC international students are required to demonstrate their capacity to complete the course successfully.
International students applying for Diploma levels either off-shore or on-shore will need satisfactory completion of the equivalent of Australian Year 12 or Certificate IV or higher qualification.

English Language Requirements:

To enroll in this course with BLC,international students, applying either off-shore or on-shore, must satisfy one of the following requirements:
I. Either a minimum IELTS test score of 5.5 or equivalent for direct entry into a VET course;
or, an IELTS score of 5.0 or equivalent with an ELICOS course (up to 10 weeks) to be taken before the main VET course.
or, an IELTS score of 4.5 or equivalent with an ELICOS course (up to 20 weeks) to be taken before the main VET course.
Results of more than two years are not acceptable.

II. Evidence that they have studied English for at least five years in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the Republic of Ireland, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

III. Evidence that, within two years of their application date, they have successfully completed in Australia a foundation course or a senior secondary certificate of education or a substantial part of a Certificate IV or higher level qualification, from the Australian Qualifications Framework.

IV. For students from Assessment Levels 1 and 2 only, successful completion of BLC’s Language and Numeracy Test conducted by BLC.

Please note that BLC will also accept equivalent test results from the following specified English Language Tests- TOEFL iBT, PTE Academic, Cambridge English: Advanced (CAE), and TOEFL PBT.

Pre-Training Review:

All students will undertake a pre-training review which aims to identify their training needs through questions on previous education or training, basic computing skills, and interviews conducted by the BLC enrolment officer.

The interview also aims to identify possible RPL opportunities.

Through pre-training review, students will demonstrate that they have the necessary skills to successfully complete the course.

Language, Literacy and Numeracy test (LLN):

All students are required to undertake a language, literacy, and numeracy (LLN) test mapped at ACSF level 4+ conducted by Blue Lotus College (BLC).

Candidate undertaking this course must possess sound Numeracy skills since it requires them to do calculations, and make reports and graphs.

After the successful completion of this qualification, there are several career pathways, which include but are not limited to:

  • Network Technician
  • Network and System Administrator
  • Network Security Professional
  • Help Desk Professional

BLC does not make misleading claims, or job guarantees, or advertise any employment outcome with its courses.

In order to achieve qualification students must complete the following 20 units of competency which includes 6 core units and 14 elective units Core Units:
ICTSAS527 Manage client problems
BSBCRT512 Originate and develop concepts
BSBXCS402 Promote workplace cyber security awareness and best practices
BSBXTW401 Lead and facilitate a team
ICTICT517 Match ICT needs with the strategic direction of the organisation
ICTICT532 Apply IP, ethics and privacy policies in ICT environments
Elective Units:
ICTNWK560 Determine best-fit topologies for wide area networks
ICTNWK561 Design enterprise wireless local area networks
ICTNPL413 Evaluate networking regulations and legislation for the telecommunications industry
ICTNWK540 Design, build and test network servers
ICTNWK546 Manage network security
ICTNWK559 Install an enterprise virtual computing environment
ICTICT519 Develop detailed component specifications from project specifications
ICTNWK423 Manage network and data integrity
ICTPMG505 Manage ICT projects
ICTNWK541 Configure, verify and troubleshoot WAN links and IP services
ICTTEN519 Design network building projects
ICTWEB519 Develop complex web page layouts
ICTWEB520 Develop complex cascading style sheets
ICTNWK559 Install an enterprise virtual computing environment

To find out the methods of application, visit How to apply page
If you have a query about how to apply or entry requirements, contact admissions@bluelotus.edu.au


This program is delivered under competency-based training. Instead of grading or marks, students are required to demonstrate all the criteria for each unit of competency, and students are marked “Competent” or “Not yet competent”.
Typical assessment methods will include written questions, case studies, projects, role plays, and skills demonstration